BAHA Preservation Awards 2008
82 Shattuck Square before restoration (photo: Daniella Thompson, 2004)
82 Shattuck Square spruced up (photo: Daniella Thompson, 2008)
82 Shattuck Square
(James R. Miller & Timothy L. Pflueger, 1926)
City of Berkeley Landmark No. 78 (1984)
The three-building complex at Shattuck Square is Berkeleys only major work by San Francisco Art-Deco specialists Miller & Pflueger, famous for the Castro Theatre, Pacific Telephone & Telegraph Bldg., 450 Sutter, and the Oakland Paramount Theatre. Until the recent fašade improvements, the building was of a uniform drab color. A plain arcade had been built along its west fašade in the 1990s.
Photo: Daniella Thompson, 2008
As part of the refurbishing project, the arcade was adorned with frieze and column plaster ornaments adapted from the buildings original motifs. The building was repainted in five colors, the frieze and window relief ornaments receiving a highly detailed treatment. New metal gates along the arcade incorporate an ornamental vine motif, turning an element that might have looked oppressive into a charming asset. Matching green storefront awnings complete this harmonious ensemble. The spruced-up building stands as a valuable example, making a much needed esthetic contribution to the fabric of the downtown core.
Photo: Daniella Thompson, 2008
Early stage of the project (photo: Peter Schiller)
1510 Oxford Street
(George Embury, 1891)
McCleave House restored (photo: Daniella Thompson, 2008)
Captain William A. McCleave, an Irish immigrant who served with the First California Volunteer Cavalry during the Civil War, retired from the U.S. Army in 1879 after 28 years of distinguished service, settling in Berkeley with his wife and six children.
The McCleaves bought several contiguous lots in the Antisell Villa Lots tract and built a large residence on Walnut Street, between Cedar and Vine Streets. Eleven years later, they began construction of two rental houses at 1506 and 1510 Oxford Street, directly behind their residence. These were constructed by Berkeley contractor and builder George Embury, in the Queen Anne style that was the fashion of the day, and completed in 1892.
By the 1920s, the McCleave home on Walnut St. had given way to an apartment building, but the two rental houses on Oxford St. survived through subdivision. For a number of years, 1510 Oxford St. served as a boarding house, which couldnt have enhanced its condition but helped in its preservation.
Fine detail work (photo: Daniella Thompson, 2008)
The current owners purchased the house in 1994 and embarked on a two-year restoration project in 2006. The work was extensive, including reconstruction of the front porch; repairs to siding and trim; in-kind replacement of 22 windows and the rear French doors; repair and/or replacement of door and window trim, corbels, dentil blocks, sunbursts, rosettes, cornice, and soffits; reshingling of gables and wall sections; complete repainting of the entire house in 6 colors; gold-leafing of selected architectural elements; installation of a new copper gutter system; and replacement of the sidewalk in front of the house.
Throughout the meticulous restoration project, the highest standards of workmanship were adhered to. We have no doubt the restored house looks as good or even better than it did in 1892. BAHA salutes this exemplary model of historically correct renovation.
1624 Delaware Street (photo: Daniella Thompson, 2006)
Isaac and Elsie Fischel House
1624 Delaware Street
(architect unknown, 1890)
This venerable house was built in 1890 for a branch of the Fischel family, pioneer butchers who lived on University Avenue and owned many properties in downtown Berkeley. Originally located on the southeast corner of Berkeley Way and Milvia Street, the house was moved to its present location in 1925 and was occupied by members of the Fischel family until 1934.
When the present owners purchased it, the one-story house had been uninhabited for two years and was quite dilapidated. Neighbors had observed raccoons going in and out of the attic through openings in the dormers.
Before restoration (photo: Kristin Leimkuhler)
As part of the rehabilitation project, the owners knocked out false ceilings to reveal the original 12-foot ceilings. They removed a 1940s addition from the rear and reworked the one-story floor plan into a 2-story design. Lifting the house 2.5 feet made it possible to transform the six-foot-high unfinished basement into a contemporary, wheelchair-accessible first floor, doubling the homes size without increasing its footprint.
While the new interior and the rear exterior is largely modern, the Victorian exterior on the front and sides was faithfully preserved. All the exterior design details on the new first floorfrom wood siding to trim and corbelsmatch the original ones on the second floor. When off-the-shelf pieces weren't available, custom pieces were fabricated. The new, energy-efficient wooden windows replicate the original windows design. An antique glazed door and a quatrefoil stained-glass church window were purchased on eBay and installed on the front facade.
Throughout, energy-efficient systems and sustainable materials were utilized. The result is a charming house that is an asset to its neighborhood. BAHA congratulates all involved on so successfully extending the useful life of this historic dwelling.
Copyright © 2008 BAHA. All rights reserved.